Strike 1 : Live music concert

Yes,the first strike off my list of things to do while im 25

The Poona Music Society and Goethe Institut, Pune had organized a jazz evening at Mazda Hall. The artists performing for the evening were Bica-Daerr-Stick trio.I had never heard of them before,so I went in without knowing what to expect.(Some times I think this works in favor…having a clean slate.)

As I reached just about in time,and went inside…I was surprised to see the fairly modest size of the hall.But it is well established fact now,quality matters,not quantity.The thing that I fell in love with immediately was the huge black shinning  piano that stood on the stage.I had never seen that big a piano live.Then I noticed the wooden stage…the scale of it made it endearing.It had nice little wooden wings and steps.There in the middle lay a double bass and next to it was a drum set.Their skill full  handlers came in and thus began the enchanting two hours performance.I was sitting in a place where I was surrounded by foreigners,but I never felt out-of-place even for a minute.In fact,after moments they started playing i didn’t even notice where  i was.It was just the music that took over.The star of the evening was the pianist Carsten Daerr. His amazing skill with the keys were just captivating.But my personal favorite was Carlos Bica.His compositions were just the best amongst what they played.My favorite was ‘the believer’. It was like they were weaving emotions around the notes that they were playing.I lost all sense of place and time when the composition played.After the performance ended I was so glad to have spent the two hours there.It was completely a fulfilling strike of the list.

Here’s the piece that I loved

You can find my wish list here

PS.The Thank yous to my best friend for being there with me!

 

4 thoughts on “Strike 1 : Live music concert”

  1. that place makes me so nostalgic… I ve been there so many times…once for a flamenco guitar concert by an old spanish guitarist. it was simply amazing! and the piano is soo cool….

    its wonderful that you found it!

Leave a Reply

